Local chapter update: Leadership responsibilities related to meeting facilitation

CDI Strategies - Volume 13, Issue 11

Per the 2019 chapter agreement form, local chapters agree to a number of responsibilities related to meeting facilitation (covered in Section II.b). All local chapter and networking group leaders are required to submit a signed agreement form annually by January 31.

By signing the agreement, local chapter leaders agree to:

  • Hold at least two meetings per year for local chapter membership.
    • ACDIS National recommends a quarterly meeting cadence.
    • If difficulties arise with meeting planning, local chapter leadership should inform national as soon as possible.
  • Communicate with national prior to canceling any previously scheduled event to discuss alternatives.
  • Apply for Certified Clinical Documentation Specialist (CCDS) continuing education credits where applicable at least 30 days prior to the live event.

If you haven’t sent in your 2019 chapter agreement form yet, please review, sign, and submit it as soon as possible. If you have any questions, contact Associate Editorial Director Melissa Varnavas (mvarnavas@acdis.org) and Editor Linnea Archibald (larchibald@acdis.org).

The following is a list of upcoming events for ACDIS local chapters. If you have an upcoming event you would like to include, please email Varnavas and Archibald.

March:

  • The Heart of Missouri ACDIS chapter meets Thursday, March 21, 5-8 p.m., at Boone Hospital Center, Conference Center 1A, in Columbia. For information, contact Karen Elmore (kelmore@bjc.org).
  • The Virginia ACDIS chapter meets for their spring meeting on Saturday, March 23, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m., in the atrium conference room on the fourth floor of Johnston-Willis Hospital in Richmond. For information, contact Fran DeLisser (Franchesca_Delisser@bshsi.org).
  • The Missouri and California ACDIS chapters meet on Wednesday, March 27, at 2 p.m., eastern, 11 a.m. pacific, via a webinar. ACDIS Associate Editorial Director Melissa Varnavas will be presenting on the state of the industry. Click here to register.
  • The Tennessee ACDIS chapter meets Friday, March 29, 8 a.m. to 3:45 p.m., at the University of Tennessee Medical Center in Knoxville.Please RSVP by March 22. For information and to RSVP, contact Sherri Clark (sclark@utmck.edu).
  • The Georgia ACDIS chapter meets Friday, March 29, 7:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m., at Piedmont Athens Hospital in Athens. For information, contact Jamie Doster (doster.j@icloud.com).

April:

  • The Central New York ACDIS chapter meets Friday, April 5, 2-4 p.m., at Upstate University Hospital in Syracuse. Click here to download the agenda. For information, contact Dawn Burr (dawnburr@crouse.org).
  • The Kansas City, Missouri, ACDIS chapter meets Wednesday, April 10, 2-4 p.m. central, at Truman Medical Center in Kansas City. For information, contact Angelica Naylor (angelica.naylor@outlook.com).
  • The Maryland ACDIS chapter meets Friday, April 12, 12-2 p.m., at the Maryland Hospital Association in Elkridge. Visit the Maryland page on the ACDIS website for the rest of the year’s lineup. For information, contact Deborah McClain (dmcclain2@fmh.org).
  • The Oregon ACDIS chapter meets Friday, April 12, 7:15 a.m. to 3:45 p.m., at Boulder Inn Best Western Conference Room in Lebanon. Click here to download the agenda. For information, contact Bonita Quinn (bgquinn@stcharleshealthcare.org).
  • The Central Pennsylvania ACDIS chapter meets Friday, April 19, at Penn State Milton S. Hershey Medical Center in Hershey. For information, contact Deanne Wilk (dwilk@pennstatehealth.psu.edu).
  • The Massachusetts ACDIS chapter meets Thursday, April 25, 12-3 p.m. at Trinity Health Care, central business office in Bloomfield, Connecticut. Please RSVP by April 10 as space is limited. To RSVP and for information, contact Jessica Barberio (jessica.barbeiro@steward.org).
  • The Maine ACDIS chapter meets Friday, April 26, 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. at MaineGeneral Medical Center in Augusta. For information, contact Cathy Rice (cathy.rice@mainegeneral.org).
  • The Washington Evergreen ACDIS chapter meets Friday, April 26, 7 a.m. to 2 p.m., at Swedish Hospital in Issaquah. Please register by April 16. For information and to register, contact the chapter leadership team (evergreenACDIS@gmail.com).

Save-the-date:

  • The Oklahoma ACDIS chapter meets Friday, May 31, 1-3 p.m., at OU Medical Center, Samis Conference Center, in Oklahoma City. Click here to download the flyer. For information and to RSVP, contact Amanda Just (amanda.just@integrisok.com).
  • The Pediatric Networking Group (APDIS) meets Thursday, June 6, 3 p.m., via webinar. For information, contact Valerie Bica (valerie.bica@nemours.org).
  • The Georgia ACDIS chapter meets Saturday, June 8, in Savannah. Please note that this meeting will include a volunteer opportunity with the Help End Hunger Food Bank. For information, contact Jamie Doster (doster.j@icloud.com).
  • The Kansas City, Missouri, ACDIS chapter meets Wednesday, June 12, 2-4 p.m. central. More details to come. For information, contact Angelica Naylor (angelica.naylor@outlook.com).
  • The Georgia ACDIS chapter meets Thursday, September 19, at Northeast Georgia Medical Center. More information to follow. For information, contact Jamie Doster (doster.j@icloud.com).
  • The Michigan ACDIS chapter meets Saturday, October 5, at McLaren Hospitality House in Flint. Click here to download the save-the-date. More details to come. For information, contact Susan Fantin (susan.fantin@comcast.net).
  • Missouri's three ACDIS chapters meet Saturday, October 19, 2019, 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., for the fourth annual Show Me State Conference at Boone Hospital in Columbia. Click here to download the save-the-date. More information to follow. For information, contact Karen Elmore (kelmore@bjc.org).
  • The Washington Evergreen ACDIS chapter meets Friday, October 25, at Overlake Hospital in Bellevue. More details to follow. For information, contact the chapter leadership team (evergreenACDIS@gmail.com).
  • The Kansas City, Missouri, ACDIS chapter meets Wednesday, December 4, 2-3 p.m. central, via webinar. For information, contact Angelica Naylor (angelica.naylor@outlook.com).